Goldstein awards

Three faculty honored for commitment to medical education

F. Sessions Cole, MD; Mark D. Levine, MD; Megan E. Wren, MD

F. Sessions Cole, MD; Mark D. Levine, MD; Megan E. Wren, MD

F. Sessions Cole, MD, Mark D. Levine, MD, and Megan E. Wren, MD, have been honored with the 2010 Samuel R. Goldstein Leadership Awards in Medical Education.

The annual awards, which recognize outstanding teaching and commitment to medical education, are among the highest honors that Washington University School of Medicine faculty can achieve. They were established in 2000 in memory of Goldstein, a longtime friend of the medical school.

Cole is the Park J. White, MD, Professor and vice chairman of the Department of Pediatrics. He is also assistant vice chancellor for children’s health, director of the Division of Newborn Medicine and chief medical officer at St. Louis Children’s Hospital.

Levine is assistant professor of medicine and has been the emergency medicine division director for medical school education for nine years. In addition, he is medical director of the St. Louis Fire Department.

Wren, associate professor of medicine, has devoted much of her time to medical student education for more than 20 years. She teaches second-year students about core clinical skills such as physical examination, formulating a diagnosis, writing admitting orders, principles of safe prescribing and how to write progress notes. Within the hospital, she regularly teaches third- and fourth-year students; for the latter, she has designed a pre-internship clinical review workshop.

« previous story
back to top
next story »